You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Digital Image Processing - a practical approach

in #steemstem6 years ago

This is very cool @christinaa and thanks for the shoutout! I haven't got matlab but I'm may try to port some of your samples into C# or Python, so it's good you post the code blocks here. I'm really looking forward to your series.

I will be showing my age here, but many of the image processing techniques started with film. For example unsharp masking was done by taking out-of-focus copy of a negative and then using that as a mask in front of the original negative to sharpen a image. Photographic dodging was another technique where you'd get a paper-clip with a bit of putty on the end as a blocking tool to fade out parts of the image when you printed it in an enlarger. Of course hardly anyone would do it this way now...

Sort:  

Ur articles are really amazing, terry.. When I was writing about filters, I immediately recall about ur post and im glad to mention it here... I will continue this series of image processing hopefully... U can use OpenCV for ur C# or python codes..
U r absolutely right.. The idea of processing images to a desired level is really old concept.. As u said, back in the days of 'films' people used to modify images manually and thanks to the advancement of technology, we can do this with righting a few blocks of codes today...!
Thanks for ur compliments.. :)

Good tip about OpenCV ! Found Emgu which is a .NET port for OpenCV so looks like I might be playing with that in the near future.

cool..!! hope to see more amazing post about image processing from u..!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70