You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemSTEM Community Feedback: Proposals and Solutions

in #steemstem6 years ago

i gave up STEM post because it seems like everyone is circle-jerking. After many failed attempt to get the attention of curator(s), i finally got one on my post, he criticized my post but didnt show me where to improve. In another i criticized but this time, he showed me discord link for me to join the server which i appreciated so much.

i love Stem post but not everybody like me is good at beating around the bush just to make my wordings to be more than 1000 words.

you guys should try to make room for amature STEM writers so that people like me can fit in(suggestion). i dont like writing or even reading elongated post....

consider !!!

Sort:  

We do vote on amateur STEM writers here. That's most of the community. We want the posts to be understandable and have factual accuracy. Writing material like this is frankly, more difficult than writing other areas. What I think you are asking is that we expect less from posts. It is what it is, I don't think we should lesten our expectations of quality. Not all content is equal, and not all content is worth a vote. Some people can make it, and others can't. Hopefully we can also foster a community of readers in addition to authors.

Well, just a few months ago I was new to steemstem, as well. In fact, I was new to steemit itself. I enjoyed writing science. I didn't even know of steemstem and I started publishing. Just a few votes and fifty cents for a post that took me 2 days to write, would make me happy. Then I found steemstem in one of the science post I was reading. So I went to the discord channel to see what's its about. I added the steemstem tag in my next post. But, nothing. That did not kill my spirit to write stem. I interacted with the awesome mentors there, I figured how to use images the right way as steemstem was a commercial platform and I was using a commercial platform to write for the first time. Then another, but still nothing. Then I worked on my formatting and using markdown properly. Stopped experimenting with the bots. Nevertheless I continued writing, because I anyway don't know what to write other than science. Then it happened.

The thing is steemstem is anything but circle jerking. It's one of the most honest and dedicated community on steem. If you love STEM like you say that you do, don't give up. Write it. If you wonder why you are not getting upvoted contact any of us mentors there and we will be happy to help. I do hope you start writing STEM again and don't get disheartened by sheer lack of upvotes.

I was a tiny, itty bit of plankton who knew no one in steemstem, and I got an upvote. It was a stunning and uplifting experience. I was going to write anyway, but that did give me incentive. It showed the curators cared about content. And when my content made the grade, I felt really gratified. It's still the gold standard for me. I think this is the most objective curating team on Steemit. I appreciate all the work the team does.

Though it may appear biased coming from me, but circle jerking is the last thing that people in the steemstem community engage in. About the length of a post, I'm sorry if you feel that way. I doubt you can get any good curation is your plan is to "beat about the bush" to borrow your term, to get up to 1000 words. Have it in mind that 1000 words is never the standard to getting good curation. Thank you for voicing out your concerns.

Thanks for raising your concerns. To repeat what was said below, there is not length requirement, and there is definitely room for people like you. Actually, the majority of people we support are like you.

PS: we vote about 100 authors a week (with new authors every week). This is not really what could be called circle-jerking, couldn't be?

To add to this accusation of circle jerking, a circle jerk is a group of people upvoting each other. This is often argued what the entirety of steem is. However, we are constantly trying to find new paths to bring outsiders in and share the 'load', so we don't really classify as such.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66419.93
ETH 3546.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47