You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Energy Production for our MARS colony - Colonization of MARS Series

in #steemstem6 years ago

Nuclear reactors powering Stirling engines, imagine that. I think that's the way to go.

Though I like how simple RTG's are. You just get a lump of hot radioactive material and power everything with that. No moving parts and nothing to break, unlike wind turbines. The Russians even used them to power lighthouses.

Another good article. And I like the Handbook idea!

Sort:  

Thanks a lot! I also loved the idea of RTG's when I first found out about them. It was close to Spirit and Opportunity I think. They were having some troubles with the energy and an RTG would have been a good boost. I followed both of them live almost everyday for the first few months :)
I was younger and Facebook and 9gag weren't online yet :P

It's quite amazing that Opportunity is still active after all these years.

Very good engineering. They weren't expecting it :)
They had to flip over to assure funding all these years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64689.27
ETH 3135.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56