You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Physiological Thrill of Using a Weapon

in #steemstem6 years ago

Hmmm, that is strange. My boyfriend experiences none of these "thrilling" physiological changes when he is in a room with a gun or is offered a chance to hold a gun. He experiences quite the opposite. Then again, he has been falsely accused by Cops multiple times concerning multiple things and has had guns pointed at him with ill intent for no reason at all. Also, when he was a child, one of his best friend's brothers "freaked out" and held a knife up to his throat. Plus side? He avoids using violence to solve issues. As a woman, I feel that is a pretty healthy thing. I don't want my kids exposed to a bunch of "boners" "getting off" playing around with guns. They sure as hell aren't a toy. Thanks for sharing, by the way. I don't intend to condemn your love of weaponry, I just wanted to state that the thrills experienced with guns aren't shared with all humans. Hmmm, speaking of which? Would Jesus get a "boner" if we offered him a pistol? Lol.... Yeah, I like to find humor in all things. <3

Sort:  

Thank you for adding your / your partner's experience. Although it was obviously not good at the time it has made him a better person and example for the children.
I don't "love weaponry". In fact the opposite. This research and all my previous posts originally came about as I tried to understand why my father always beat me with some kind of object instead of a slap. In his rage a punch would've been understandable in the context of he had psyche and social issues but he always reached for a stick or shoe or belt etc.... I Always wondered why. Hence there must be more.
This information, like any, does not apply to every human, but it does explain why some things seem to be contrary to what is expected in certain situations.
I too turned my back on that way of being thankfully and I can get quite annoyed when the stock answer is violence leads to violence, abused will abuse. There's so much more to a person such as free will, but if we add the chemistry to the psychology and social effects some of it starts to make a better road to understanding and so changing things.
Thank you for joining in and respect to you and your family.

Thanks. Yeah, these cycles of violence can be difficult to recognize if you are caught in the middle of one of them but it is good to know some of us can see it enough to break the chain. Much love back and thanks for engaging me. I am sure we both have plenty more experiences to share on here. Best wishes! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67982.33
ETH 2624.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68