You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The end of the Run 2 of the Large Hadron Collider - the dawn of a new class of interactions

in #steemstem6 years ago

Indeed, this is very interesting. I have couple of very silly questions, if I may ask. From my little and naive understanding about particle physics, what I understood in 2012 is that higgs boson creates a higgs field, and how a particle interacts with this field is what gives it its mass. Is Yukawa interaction the name of mechanism describing interaction between higgs field and a particle. Or is it something else with its own boson?

My second question is how is such an interaction measured. I understand that if you have to measure gravitational or EM interaction you can figure it out by figuring how something moves in EM or gravitational field. Strong and weak force though bit complicated, I get the essence of it. But I I found it hard to imagine that what kind of experimental setup would measure this interaction?

PS: You may find my questions silly, I am just a biologist trying to understand this. I hope you dont mind these naive questions.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61081.21
ETH 2406.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64