You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Cognitive Neuroscience] #1: Introduction & History

in #steemstem6 years ago

Hi samoasilk,
This is a nice choice of topic, and you made a pretty fair attempt at it. But I would like to give you some pieces of advice to keep handy with, so as to create a more quality STEM post.

  • First of all, it is always a good practice to include "reference for further reading" in your posts.
  • Also, try to use only images from copyright-free sites. Some of the images you used aren't. Though some are; by inference; grouped under public domain upon the demise of the author - like the images of Pythagoras, etc, which you can use freely. You can refer to this guideline on image sourcing.

Cheers and thanks
SteemSTEM Mentor.png

Sort:  

A pretty fair attempt, @samminator?... Thanks for the comments... First of all, as a STEM guy, I would expect that you would know that these historical facts don’t require citations... these are facts with no direct source, and are common knowledge. There is no further reading. If readers are interested in knowing more about the basic stuff here, they can perform a simple search in any engine of their choice. There is no book or article I used as a reference here, so I can’t provide anyone with that sort of outlet. As for the image thing, thanks for the guideline link.

Just to clarify what @samminator wanted to say, it is not a matter of requiring or requesting citations. It is a matter of providing references to potentially interested readers on places where to get additional information on the topic you address.

But as a matter of fact, no one is enforcing you to do anything. You do as you want, at the end of the day. However, if you want SteemSTEM to support your work, well, you should do this google exercise you suggest by yourself, for your readers, and indicate the results in your post.

PS: In some ways, you should have got information on the topic you wrote about from somewhere, shouldn't you? There must thus be some sources you could share.

I get where you’re coming from. This post is a product of personal notes taken from courses I took over the years. Want me to just scan my notebook and post it here instead? The way you guys are commenting here has left me very discouraged to continue writing, this is not the community I expected here on steemit.

Note that I cannot talk for anyone else but me. I think I have been polite, not aggressive, and I have tried to be constructive. I don't understand where is the problem there.

We of course don't want you to scan lecture notes. However, there are ways to make extra information easily reachable, aren't there? This is all we require to offer people @steemstem support (plus a few other points).

Anyways, I think this discussion is over. I made my point, you made yours. Let's move on.

First of all, as a STEM guy, I would expect that you would know that historical facts don’t require citations.

Of course they do. Otherwise I could just say, there was no holocaust and you have to treat it as a historical fact, since I don't have to cite any sources for my claim.

The holocaust is still ongoing.. the numbers once tattooed on skin are now store in a database... Please .. You don't know if the holocaust happened like it did or if it even did.. Everything we've been told is a lie..

I have done research for many years, this is not a research paper. The fact that Pythagoras had anything to do with mathematics does not require citations. You don’t see people citing the haulocaust, do you? Maybe you do, but come on, don’t bring an example like that into the equation.

historical facts don’t require citations

Lol, except you lived through time to witness history first-hand. But if not, then the info must have been gotten from a source and that would require credit.
It wouldn't hurt to add references, would it?
Well, it was just an advice.

It wasn’t my intent to start beef with you. I figured you would gather that when I said historical facts I was insinuating historical common knowledge with a consensus. Just like evolution, for example. We don’t need to cite Darwin when speaking of it. Either way, I really do appreciate your time spent reading this post. I hope you’ll stick around to read onward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47