You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Probing cosmic neutrinos with a giant 200000 km2 detector

in #steemstem6 years ago

I've been thinking; these cosmic rays entering the earth, do they pose any serious effect to the inhabitants of the earth?

Or rephrasing it: Is there a limit to how much our bodies can absorb these radiations without being relatively affected by them?

Sort:  

I've been thinking; these cosmic rays entering the earth, do they pose any serious effect to the inhabitants of the earth?

The very energetic cosmic rays interact with the atmosphere of the planet and produce secondary particles, that produce tertiary particles when interacting, and so on. One gets a shower of particles that are less and less energetic, and humans are then safe and won't get hit by a very energetic particle in their face.

Note that cosmic rays may be responsible for being at the origin of life, by causing DNA mutations in the early days ;)

Wow! I've been wondering how the origin of life came to be; now I know better. Thanks for the insight sir.

PS: If the cosmic rays could cause DNA mutation, doesn't it also mean it could have effects on the human body?

PS 2:

The very energetic cosmic rays interact with the atmosphere of the planet and produce secondary particles, that produce tertiary particles

Sounds like chain reaction to me :D

Note that this is one option for the origin of life. If I remember well, there is no certainty here.

PS: If the cosmic rays could cause DNA mutation, doesn't it also mean it could have effects on the human body?

Yes, but the probability is small.

Sounds like chain reaction to me :D

This is correct! :)

If I remember well, there is no certainty here.

Exactly sir. I once read a funny myth about the creation of life (from the Fulanis) - which stated that life originated from a big drop of milk.. I couldn't help laughing my arse out :D

I thought it was a big drop of turtle poo :D

Lol. Do turtles poo? :D

I don't want to check manually ;)

well, considering they have probably been there a bit longer than humans i'd say it looks pretty safe but the sensei can most likely explain it better than me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58969.80
ETH 2512.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48