You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: General relativity 101 - Gravitational waves in a nutshell

in #steemstem6 years ago

A wave does therefore not transport matter but solely energy

I've been thinking that energy is grouped as matter. I guess I was wrong.

Gravity is the weakest of all forces, and this weakness must be compensated by large masses.

I've now understood why the sun is able to hold up other planets in the force of gravity - because of its size.

I've learnt a lot from this post. Thanks for sharing

Sort:  

I've been thinking that energy is grouped as matter. I guess I was wrong.

I am not sure to understand the above sentence. Do you mind clarifying?

I've now understood why the sun is able to hold up other planets in the force of gravity - because of its size.

Not only the size. It is a matter of both its mass and its density. the sun bends the space around it, so that planets can only orbit around it following the curvature.

I've been thinking that "matter" is anything that has mass and occupies space (okay, that's what we were taught in the elementary school).
And I was also taught that energy is the property of matter.
That was why I assumed that matter and energy are somewhat related.

But when I saw these words "A wave does therefore not transport matter but solely energy". I then realized that "matter" and "energy" are two different concepts.

Being related does not mean they are the same thing. Mass energy is one type of energy. But energy can also be radiated for instance. In the case of waves, energy is transmitted in a way the system does not undergo any global motion.

Okay I now understand. Thanks for the tutorials sir

Adding clarifications is always a pleasure :)

you were taught about matter in elementary school ? lol ... size and mass are not the same like one kilo of lead and one kilo of feathers as the classic story goes , i wish i was taught about matter in elementary school :p

I taught my son when he was in grade 1. i.e. earlier this year :)

don't get me wrong here, i think its a GREAT idea, the younger kids are the easier they take things in and the earlier you gain knowledge the more connecting points you have which means you can absorb more faster without people having to explain. My only benefit was that i could read before 1st year so i got a bit of a headstart because i could take in a lot more of everything i saw around me.

Now if they had taught me about the movement of the planets (even just that) when i was six (or even in kindergarten, as long as it comes with metafors) i would probably be a bit further than having had to just nag my parents with questions until the buried me under encyclopedia lol

i wasnt like acting as if it would be too hard for a kid, i just say its a shame it doesnt get done ... i think a toddler can get the basic concepts if they come in tales, maybe ESPECIALLY them, and if they have their world image instated like that from very young age, then everything after that will be interpreted in a framework of understanding, it should be .. .exponential ?
it still shows btw, im nothing of a teamplayer and id rather drop dead looking things up for 24 hours or more before i ask anyone lol

first three years as they say , but maybe its the first six (well they would be freud and freud suffers a bit from local era-syndrome i'm afraid not all his stuff is applicable across all culture and times)

which is not physics ofcourse, although everything is physics since brains are made of particles

but you just said that to brag because its your kid didnt you :p

i know a thing or two about the competitive ego of the scientist ... i suppose it can be hard sometimes

its a quest for immortality, isnt it ?

i wasnt like acting as if it would be too hard for a kid, i just say its a shame it doesnt get done ... i think a toddler can get the basic concepts if they come in tales, maybe ESPECIALLY them, and if they have their world image instated like that from very young age, then everything after that will be interpreted in a framework of understanding, it should be .. .exponential ?
it still shows btw, im nothing of a teamplayer and id rather drop dead looking things up for 24 hours or more before i ask anyone lol

What matter is not the topic but how the message is passed to the next generation (and which messages). :)

in most cases i would definitely agree, but some people have really bad messages haha , i see there's a new article, time to dust of my french, actually not bad you do that now and then, i can use some practice, i dont have money to visit paris once a month lol

You always have the English version not too far from the French one. Don't worry. Unfortunately, my Flemish is too rusted (I didn't speak it for about 20 years) so that you should not count too much on the Flemish version. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63