Bizarre Natural Phenomena Vol. 48 - The Shadowman In A Halo (The Brocken Spectre Phenomenon)

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

We're back in action, folks! Did you miss the crazy phenomena lady? 'Cause I just got down to work :P

What would you not expect to see if you went hiking in the mountains? Walking all the way up, the hazy atmosphere full of mist, the sun coming out on your back you take a stop to admire the view. A spooky scenery is unfolded all around you but the spookiest part has yet to come. As your eyes fell on your shadow, you blink. And blink. And blink again.


Image source: commons.wikimedia.org - Creator: Brocken Inaglory- License: CC BY-SA 3.0

Oh, my God! Did I die? Why is there a colorful halo around my head?!

No, you didn't die, relax!

Am I seeing a ghost? Is my brain deprived of oxygen and I started hallucinating? Did you give me drugs on the way up?

All three negative.

Then what is that? Do I need an eye doctor?

All you need is your camera to take a picture of this unique and rare phenomenon called the Brocken spectre.

But it doesn't look broken to me :P

Ha! Good one (not). The Brocken spectre (or Brocken bow or mountain spectre) took its name from the highest peak in Harz Mountains (Northern Germany). It is nothing more than a stupendous optical illusion, the viewer's shadow appears magnified thanks to the water droplets in the air and a rainbow-like ring appears usually around the head.

Cool! And how does it happen?

When the observer has their back turned towards the sun and there is mist or fog, the shadow casted on the water droplets appear bigger than it normally should. Another reason for this is the fog blocking the rest of the view in front of you; without reference points, it's easy to get confused. The water droplets in the air also confuse the observer's depth reception enhancing the illusion. [1]

The rainbow halo is nothing more than... a rainbow. Well, actually this is a glory phenomenon. The glory is almost like a rainbow of a smaller scale, which might appear in a ringed form. The mechanism is not exactly the same. We need the Sun (or why not the Moon) low in the horizon on the observer's back [3, 5]. Next, we need clouds of mist or fog right opposite the light source in a straight line. That's why the observer needs to stand on a high point like the peak of a mountain, because the phenomenon in viewed below their viewing horizon (almost at the point of their head's shadow) [2]

The main, but not the only, process involved here is wave tunneling (after analysis, tunneling turned out to be the dominating effect). Whereas during a rainbow effect, the light hits the water droplets, in a glory effect it only passes very close to it and creates electromagnetic waves within it. As those waves move around inside the droplet, they finally manage to tunnel out and move rays of light in the direction which they came from. The splitting of light happens due to the wavelength-dependent routes the electromagnetic waves follow within the droplet [6].

If the circumstances are right, a glory and a rainbow might appear together [2]. Just like with rainbows, each observer can see one and only Brocken spectre, their own [5]

Can I only see it up in the mountains?

The glory phenomenon can be seen even from inside a plane. When the plane is flying relatively low so that it casts its shadow on the clouds, the glory rings seem to circle it [2].


Image source:
commons.wikimedia.org - Creator: Brocken Inaglory- License: CC BY-SA 3.0 

References

1: wikipedia.org-Brocken_spectre
2: wikipedia.org-Glory_(optical_phenomenon)
3: atoptics.co.uk
4: earthsky.org
5: weatheronline.co.uk
6: nature.com

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!

Sort:  

I've never noticed this before, or perhaps I saw it and my plebeian mind ignored the beauty. Either way I'll look for it next time the conditions are right.

If you do see it, please share it with us! :)

Thanks for reading!

Content type: Long
Awarded 4 out of 5 owls:

citrec.pngform.pngsexy.pngspel.png
The originality owl was not awarded since it is only given when the science behind the post is explained in a creative way.

The clarity and completeness owl could not be awarded because the secondary source [6] contained incomplete information. Hence, this post could receive max 5 owls and not 6 owls. Details: Nussenzveig et al. did a quantative analysis to see which of three effects dominate. One of these effects was tunneling waves. His analysis yielded that this effect dominates in this phenomenon Nussenzveig et al.,2002 . So I would argue that currently the tunneling wave theory is the dominating cause but it would be incorrect to say that it has been shown that this fully explains the glory phenomenon. It should be noted that simulations based on this model do give satisfying results [P. Laven, Atmospheric glories: simulations and observations, Appl. Opt.44, 5667–5674 (2005).]

Thank you for the input! I edited "The main, but not the only, process involved here is wave tunneling..." :)

you could also add that analysis shows that tunneling is the dominating effect

Added in a parenthesis! :)

I've never seen a Brocken spectre before, but I did see the green flash about a week ago on the Oregon coast! (I thought I imagined it at first, but my friend and a random old lady nearby saw it too.)

Oh! The green flash, it must be awesome too! I had it on the list for this series ;)

Nice, can't wait to see what you find out about it!

Hey @ruth-girl, thanks for sharing!

The Brocken spectre is indeed a spectacular phenomenon which I must admit I knew nothing about before I read this post! Okay, I knew nothing about the glory phenomenon either. I'm embarassed. Kidding!

Nice read!

Thank you for reading @lordneroo! :)

have a look at my photography, "the sun catch"
muhasib.bhat-20180320-0001.jpg
it looks really fascinating... have experienced alot of them lately, will share them more with you....

Great photo! Thanks!

Nice capture

I haven't experienced it in my life, now when I will I will not get confused like you and just enjoy the scene, its really beautiful. Maybe someday I will encounter with one.

I hope you see one :)

Using narrative format/approach, you have really broken the concept of Brocken spectre so down that even a lay man would read and understand what it is all about. Thank gou

@eurogee

Thank you for reading @eurogee!

Wow that's a nice write up, thanks for sharing

What a night that must have been! Incredible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86