When you work with exotic equipment, sometimes you need to make special tools.

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

20190627_132233.jpg

My handmade tool mounted on the lower lens section of a Transmission Electron Microscope, ready to do some lifting
This electron microscope had some issues in the lower half of its column and I had to pull the thing off and get into it. This TEM is outfitted with it's own jack for splitting the column at different sections, however pulling out the lower section required a new tool. This lower section has 4 large electromagnetic lenses and lots of other hardware and weighs about 200 lbs. So I made the tool so two people could lift with out a whole lot of difficulty. Minimal difficulty and safety are very critical, because if this thing were to drop it could easily break some metatarsals, and cause irreparable damage to the lower optics.

Another perspective


Top view of tool, after we pulled the section and set it on my desk

So I made this lifting bracket out of 3/16 x 1.25" steel bar and some 11 gauge 1" steel tube. Not my prettiest work, but I went with function over from. I also needed to make it expeditiously. The 2 bars I cut, then drilled and placed on top of the lower lense section. One of the drill holes was a little off because I eyeballed it. Hahaha. No problem tho, I just drilled 2 holes to a bigger diameter later, and made heavy duty "washers" for them. Once I had them lined up right, I clamped the lifting bar to them and then pulled the whole assembly off and welded it with a Miller 200 MIG.


Close up of one of the 2 oversized holes I drilled

Over all I am pretty happy with it. Its stronger than it needs to be, but I prefer to over build. Besides, it was made mostly from scrap!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I like that you have a book called Machine Tool.

From trade school days :-). You probably like these books too

Posted using Partiko Android



This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail. It is elligible for support from @curie.

If you appreciate the work we are doing, then consider supporting our witness stem.witness. Additional witness support to the curie witness would be appreciated as well.

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Please consider setting @steemstem as a beneficiary to your post to get a stronger support.

Please consider using the steemstem.io app to get a stronger support.

Congratulations @roguescientist84! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 5.43% upvote from us for your 817 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72