You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Becoming undead - How zombie cells make you older

in #steemstem7 years ago

I would have assumed that those ageing billionaires would have rushed to fund this research, but I guess they are either pessimistic about the research or they just don't care. Still this discovery is a real breakthrough in anti ageing study. It won't stop us from ageing as you say, but I believe we are on the right track. Thanks for the informative article. Have a nice day.

Sort:  

I am glad you liked it, I think there is still so much we don't know about ageing, that is both a bad and a good thing, from the positive side it means there is much we can learn and improve, if you happen to know a couple of old billionaires please tell them to spend some change in funding research! :)

I think that this is where crowd funding comes in - maybe a project won't fly with the government but that doesn't mean that people won't jump at the chance to feel young again? This kind of project might be very popular if someone can prove they are serious about it and that they have the background to make it happen. maybe? You could at least get some newspaper coverage out of this kind of story!

It's actually not so easy to get funding to study senescence. The FDA does not consider ageing as a serious health risk so they prioritize funding of other topics. I know it's weird and it makes little sense especially when you consider that we waste much more money creating weapons to fight invisible (immaginary?) enemies, yet ageing is going to affect all of us for sure. A trend I see in the US is that if you want to get your research to be funded you should find a link to a military use and submit a proposal to the department of defense, that's sad.

Now that's a fact! The cosmetic industry is said to be beginning to see booming business ( I've heard) as a larger portion of the population in the 1st world countries starts to age so there soon may be more interest in more in-depth research. I believe that the greater interest may also have to do with people in 1st world countries living significantly longer and wanting to make the most of the extended time so larger companies my be more willing to put some effort into the research.

It's just a guess of course.

I was thinking the same thing about those aging billionaires. I thought they would be the first to push funding through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45