You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: INTUITION - What happens beyond the discursive use of the mind?

in #steemstem6 years ago

Interesting post, with some really fascinating knowledge you are sharing here! Had to laugh, when I read about your "relationship" with ball games... was the same for me and I still hate them today. Never even watched a soccer game.. ever 🤓

Wonder if your experience as a basket ball player has anything to do with what we call "Anfängerglück"... when you start with no expectation, since you are a total rookie, and you do surprisingly well.

I'm always happy for my intuition when I'm out on my motorcycle. Call it my "radar"... I can't count the times, when I felt like slowing down a bit, and sure enough, a moment later some idiot comes my way on my lane.. or something like that.

In aikido the mechanisms you describe often work against me. Still a bloody beginner, I try hard to get things right and fail, the more I try. OK... will test a different approach today for sure!

Of course the thing with the Computer fascinates me. We had a big opening last weekend with a show by our international artists group "Libellule". One Czech colleague also has a little side job as a cardiac surgeon and if I understood things right, he just got promoted to chief physician. He always has some good stories and as we were talking about AI, he told me, that until recently, no computer had been able to beat a master in GO. Its the other way round today... the fascinating thing is, the first time a computer won, he (it?) made a move, that was totally unexpected. Kind of "not logical" and sort of genius in a non calculable way! Explain that one 😲

So... can a machine develop intuition? The Question, if a computer powerful and complex enough might develop a conscious has long been asked.. so, it would only be a logical (😜) consequence....

Sort:  

Thank you, Reinhard.
You gave some very interesting examples of your own, especially what I was looking for when it comes to different life experiences as well as professions. ... Actually, first I was thinking of making a collection and give SBDs or STEEM to all participants :))

Yes, you could name it "Anfängerglück" (beginners luck) and it reflects the easiness of a beginner who doesn't expect much from himself as he finds himself not very skilled. This low expectation makes him easy going and not wanting to "win" a task at all costs. May it be winning against the self or against others.

Your driving experience I find really cool! That also shows your expertise in handling a motorbike and be aware of possible dangers. It must have happened to you that you got into a "Schrecksekunde" and you were relieved afterwards that nothing worse had happened other than to have been shocked for a second. But the reaction time I would also contribute to the survival instinct. Reacting without thinking.

Sensing the danger before it actually appears is quite fascinating:) and life saving, as I see.

You do aikido? Wow! The martial arts! Yes. I have heard of an exam where the disciple has to kneel on the floor and must sense the sword coming from behind which his master swings without any sound and move. The disciple passes the test when he bows right in the second the master attacks from behind.

I wish you luck in not being interested in becoming a master. LOL! Maybe it's going to help to relax your jaw. HeHe.

I have heard of "go" and the computer beating the human. For this, I would say, there is not much intuition involved :) as the machine clearly has an advantage in making numerous calculations within nano-seconds for which the human mind has its limits. Even though it's really impressing of how much humans are capable of. Took a long time for computers to finally beat the best humans. My man though, would also attribute some weird kind of intuition "being alive" into the computer.

Sometimes I watch the series "Grey's anatomy" and what the surgeons approach on their patients are. The script certainly used also real experiences the author did research on. To find the tiniest rupture in the hearts environment by intuition could be something, one could investigate in the realm of medicine.

I will give you a link from a German "Computer-Philosopher" who states some things about what machines are capable of and what they will never reach from his perspective. I found it during my research but did not mention it as the article was already long enough.

Check out Rupert Sheldrakes research and maybe you also would like to do some intuition training:) (the very last links I provided at the bottom of this article).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87