You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Becoming undead - How zombie cells make you older

in #steemstem7 years ago

Are you thinking about doing this topic as a post? If not, I would like to as @suesa to do one. She does some of the best biology research and work and she is willing to take requests when something looks fun (whoo hoo! directed research!) She is definitely worth looking up if you haven't seen her blog yet.

Sort:  

I actually read the "short-term fasting increases autophagy activity" thing a while ago but decided against writing a post about it, because the research I found wasn't meaningful enough (in my opinion, but maybe I was just too lazy to do deeper research). I mentioned it before tho:

But pineapples aren’t the only thing that digests us, we digest ourselves! Or at least our cells do, in a way. The process is called autophagy (“self-eating”) and its purpose is degradation of stuff inside the cells, which serves as a defense mechanism against infections or general problems inside the cell.
There have been studies which show that short-term fasting upregulates autophagy in cells, which can have positive effects on neurons. Doesn’t mean that fasting is the cure for everything, but a short-term fast now and then certainly doesn’t hurt - if done right.

From You're Being Eaten Alive

The corresponding sources:

Autophagy in general
Autophagy and fasting

With your skills I think you could easily make anything look interesting. Also you write posts with an incredible regularity, that's not laziness, maybe the topic did not struck the right chord in you and you simply decided to spend your time writing about something else

Interesting reading this right now, since I started doing this recently. I basically stop eating 4 hours before going to bed, which means 12 hours fasting every day. Easy peasy, and I'm already feeling more energetic and I'm sleeping better (unless of course it's placebo..).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59117.70
ETH 2597.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43