You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Io – The Volcanic Moon of Jupiter

in #steemstem7 years ago

Io is truly a fascinating place. Those plumes seem large enough to engulf entire countries on Earth. I'd love to see a rover explore the surface of that place, but unfortunately from what I've read about the extremely high amounts of radiation there this wouldn't be very feasible.

Have you ever been able to see the yellow color stand out when observing Io in your telescope? I've seen it before along with the other moons but it just appeared as a star in plane with the other moons.

Sort:  

I plan to pay a bit more attention next time I put the scope on it. Apparently, when it goes into shadow behind Jupiter it develops a Sulfur Dioxide frost, so that when it reappears behind the shadow the moon looks brighter and whiter. I'd like to verify that sometime, its on my todo list!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66915.04
ETH 2586.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68