You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Detecting gamma radiation with your cell phone

in #steemstem7 years ago

The negative ion stickers are hilarious. Last year I was looking for cheap radiation sources to test detectors with and I came across this video of a guy putting these pendants/patches into his gamma spectrometer and determining that they were full of thorium. I have no idea why the companies do this, but it's hilariously ironic because one of the stated purposes of these things is to block "harmful cellphone radiation". I'm honestly grateful that they exist because it's one of the cheapest thorium sources you can get online haha.

Sort:  

I am just curious, how is the count rate given by the stickers? I guess probably is from the paint?

You inspired me to just go make a long post on these stickers. In case you don't want to read the whole thing, here's my geiger counter's meter with the pseudoscience sticker on the GM tube. Average counts were probably slightly higher than what's shown (counter is on the 1x setting)

I had read it!!!!!
Really nice post!!!!!!
Thanks for the demonostration
This is really crazy to have like 250cpm frankly...
I will consider to buy one to play with xdd

I cracked one open awhile back, the thorium is from this grey dusty substance inside (wasn't too happy about that and had to do a lot of cleaning) rather than the coating. I'll be able to take a reading tonight and get back to you on the countrate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57676.72
ETH 2356.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39