You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My first "shrink" pick: Alfred Alder. What came after the analyst couch

in #steemstem7 years ago

This was a pretty good book, but had little to say about Adler. Would love to hear what you thought about it. https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2015/08/neuroscience-psychoanalysis-casey-schwartz-mind-fields/401999/

Sort:  

Thanks for commenting.

I am not sure which book you talk about. I read the article you gave me. Pretty interesting. It confirms what I have hinted at: that the different disicplines are difficult to find a common language. Psychoanalysis and neuroscience are interested in investigating the human psyche by different means and views.

I picked Adler for his holistic view on humans. But of course everyone who specialized himself in a certain field tends to explain human behavior and illness (or health) out of his/her perspective.

I agree with the author that only neuroscience will not give answers to the questions how to heal or to deal with brain damage. Though it plays a significant role nowadays. But as I am not a doctor and not working in science I find it hard to judge.

What caught your interest recommending the article to me? Do you have a specific question? I myself am a systemic integrative consultant, working in social institutions with families & singles.

I'm a neuroscientist and half-trained hypnotist who knows very little about psychoanalysis beyond what's in pop culture, so I was curious what a practitioner would make of CS's book, which I really enjoyed when I stumbled across it at the bookstore. My previous readings were limited to Mark Epstein's Thoughts Without a Thinker, which tries a similar trick of integrating psychoanalysis with Buddhist meditation.

I think that the Buddhist approach on life is quite profound and valuable. Thy psychology & philosophy behind it is worth to study. I got in touch with the whole thing by listening to Alan Watts lectures online (on youtube) and can highly recommend them. He was a very talented speaker and teacher in his field and gained deep knowledge about Asian religion, philosophy and traditions. His translations are elegant & full of wisdom. I see many parallels to the Western systemic approach on the human psyche.

Interesting stuff.

I may search for the book you mentioned. Don't know when, though :)

For you I wish you a merry Christmas, peace & love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.14
ETH 2392.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63