You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Basics of Rocket Propulsion - Part 1

Well written article I enjoyed :)

When I start my PhD hopefully in collaboration with ESA, I will be investigating precise propulsion systems using graphene. When a photon impinges on graphene at almost every wavelength it will emit an electron with energy and force proportional to that of the photon.

By using high precision lasers and controlling the flux very carefully it's possible to control very precisely a final propulsion. It will be used in the final stages of a manoeuvre.

Sort:  

This really is a great idea, since solar sails aren't great at longer distances. If the lack of emitted electrons can be compensated somehow... I think it can be combined it with an electric sail. This could solve the charge imbalance, while adding more acceleration...

Hmmm, that gave me something to think about......

I have an idea how to recapture emitted electrons and rebalance the charge. It's probably been thought about but if not i'll be suprised.

Btw good job getting back into physics after teaching, big respect. I started a post grad teaching qualification to teach in college, did all the theory and stopped before starting the placement. I knew I'd be offered a job afterwards, and possibly never go back to get a masters, so i said goodbye and applied for my masters, now I'm writing the thesis :D

Physics is life, I'm sure you agree. Take it easy dude :D

Physics for me is among the better parts of life @physiscs.benjamin. Life itself has way bigger definition.

Yes, It's hard to focus on learning while you are working. Especially when we are teachers with a fair enough salary. We worry about the future of our students a lot more than we worry about our own. All the best with your thesis.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64