You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is standard cosmology challenged by the structure of the galaxies?

I find the study of Cosmology fascinating. I feel that the current model is cumbersome, I would like some day to to dig deep into some of my questions.

I am curious about the nature of red shift as we think. I say this because there are examples of quasars with high redshift connected by a plasma filamento to a galaxy of much lower red shift, suggesting a plasma filament stretching 100's millions of light years. Ofcourse red shift is the holy grail of Astronomy and as an Astrophysicist I must repeat the known theory. But from what I have come across it's quite credible.

Anyway thanks for your post. Galaxy dynamics are crazy, it still baffles me how some galaxies have pretty perfect structure considering the number of full orbits some stars made during the galaxies existence.

Cheers @lemouth

Sort:  

Red shift is just an example of Doppler effect. I am not sure to follow your comment... You need to be clearer here ;)

Maybe the comment was quite obscure. Yes the Red shift is an example of the Doppler effect, and with the value of Redsift we can estimate the age and it's distance based on Hubble's Law. I forgot the scientist who saw this but what he noticed was images of galaxies with low redshift meaning they are close and a quasar with high redsihft which means it's far away, but they were connected by a filament of material. It would have meant that the filament was millions of light years long to stretch from the galaxy to the quasar.

An astronomer called William Tifft came up with the idea of Red-shift Quantisation, this leads me to entertain the idea of energy levels of galaxies like those of the atom. I know it's reaching far, but I've looked into it physically and thought about it philosophically, it's quite possible. Maybe one day when I have time i'd like to try to look into it deeper. But for now priorities call.

This idea does not seem to work according to current data....

@lemouth is right, this is true. The accepted consensus on this issue is that Red shift is not quantized, so anyone studying this subject should also learn and embrace the main stream view. This is a very important point!

Sometimes scientists develop alternative theories, some are way off the mark, others may good arguments, and some discover something new. As scientists we should work from accepted theories of our peers, but it's healthy to consider other theories and see what they can teach us if anything.

The consensus is supported by data. Alternative theories are good, as long as data is not telling us they are wrong or barely realistic.

Interesting

This idea is not really mainstream today. The largest fraction of the community rejects it in the light of data.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11