You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prescribing a symptom - or how doing exactly what has become a problem, can help the problem. Huh?

in #steemstem6 years ago

Good read. You briefly touched upon the topic of breaking bad habits, and I would love to hear more about this. I've managed to stop smoking by practicing amateur level NLP and consuming large doses of psilocybin mushrooms, but when I tried to end my tongue-chewing through these methods it was not effective.

To describe the problem: I chew my tongue from time to time. Not violently, but enough to make me feel unappealing and being shy of smiling with an open mouth. Sometimes I do it because it's interesting to see how big of a chunk I can bite off in one go, other times I do it compulsively without thinking about it. Sometimes I manage to quit doing it for a couple of weeks, but then I let it sneak up on me, and suddenly I catch myself doing it again. Pardon the details. I hope it doesn't gross you out too much. Anyways, would you happen to know a suitable method to practice in order to end this bad habit?

Sort:  

Thank you.

Interesting question. I would like to ask you, In what relation are the associated pleasures and pains? If there are any.

What is different during the couples of weeks where you totally drop the chewing? What did you do or don't do during that time or what is in your opinion the cause you let your tongue alone? Different conversations or meetings, alone time, time with others? Etc.

If you "let it sneak up" on you it's different from "it sneaks up on" you, so I can see some control in that. How about not letting "it"?

If you consider it to be a bad habit, and otherwise deal with it in an even-tempered way (therefore it has no deeper meaning for you), then in my opinion you would have to replace this habit with another one. An anchor would be good. How often - in 10 cases - do you notice that you do it? If the rate is high, you should make a replacement action immediately in such cases. Is there something simple you can think of? Maybe whistle a song or try to memorize something that you always wanted to learn.

It must be something you really can gain a motive on. Otherwise it will be to weak and not brake the habit.

I think you have your two good experiences in giving up things. Some people actually DO NOT want to give up a habit even though, they say they do. My last tipp would be to ask yourself, if you really want to let go of that.

Hope, that was of some help:)

There aren't any association between the pain and pleasure. Generally it doesn't hurt because it's just thin layers of new tissue. The times it does hurt, it's not intentional. I just get caught up in "fixing" the tongue until it got something that feels like a smooth surface. If one chuck disappears, I feel the need to trim away the rest as well.

Generally I find it easier to refrain from doing it when I'm in a positive/motivated state of mind. In periods of stress and uncertainty, the chewing intensifies. It generally happens when I am alone, or at least not interacting with anyone, so I can control it to some degree.

Yeah, I consciously chose the phrasing "let it sneak up" because I believe it's important to own your my own actions. Truth to be told, I don't really feel like I'm in the driver's seat on this one. I've tried not letting it, but it is as if I start to bagatellize and justify doing it sooner or later. The trigger here is what I've been trying to pinpoint, without any success other than being of the impression that it's linked to stress and motivation.

8/10 times I notice that I'm doing it. I will try this replacement action technique with praying for those dear to me. Cheers!

I will let you know how it all pans out. And if you've got any interventions in accordance to the answers I just presented, please do tell :-)

sorry, I cannot answer you properly. Have an eye infection and must stay away from screen. Just did not want to let your comment unanswered. Maybe I'll come back to you, but don't know when:)

Ouch. I'm sorry to hear. I'm practicing the technique you thought me. I'm getting better. Followed you, btw. Looking forward to more interesting reads. Feel free to check out my profile as well :-)

Get well soon!

Thanks to you:) I hope you will well do in practicing:) It's kind of heavy to overcome habits. I have mine as well:)

I will check your profile for sure & see what you got. Right now I am still dealing with a quarter of my energy and look forward to Christmas and my family. We'll stay in touch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94