You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mental Disorders, Their Symptoms and Their Treatments - Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID)

in #steemstem6 years ago

I really love this post. You gave me another aspects from which to discuss child abuses and it's associated effects (DID).
but i saw you mentioned somewhere in the post that modeling your role model or mentor is a mild form of DID which I am still trying to understand. I am a teacher, and I understand that children tend to role play their teacher which to some extent is a good thing. I have a lecturer whom I always admire in many respects and I unconsciously behave like him when I an teaching older children, or when reading. Is that to say I have DID?
Let me also ask, I also believe we are all inherently 2-1n-1. Who you want to be (not wrt wanting to be someone else, but wanting to be a better version of yourself) and who you are now. Is it a form of disorder?

Sort:  

Thank you for stopping by, and for the comments. Like I pointed out, dissociation happens to us many time. Daydreaming is a form, and those times when it seem our body belongs to someone else and we are only observers. Though those are some mild forms of dissociation. I personally have found myself acting and talking like someone else, mostly those personality i admired. At those times, i have dissociated from my own original self, my own personality. It is no crime if you begin to DELIBERATELY act and talk like those personalities, thats a different matter. A case when we desire to better ourselves by acting like these personalities consciously.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69