You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A frightened public scares me: How empathy and fear can distort health policy

in #steemstem6 years ago

Yes, I pretty much entirely agree with you here. While people ‘should’ trust experts, they increasingly are not. My aim is trying to find ways to move them around to an evidence based view-point. This takes a lot of patience and compassion for people that hold views that I often find abhorrent.

Sort:  

The requirement is to have a population that is mathematically literate, and I'm afraid that it's not a goal. All the parties, marketing companies... They are all playing on emotions.

I mean, just look at the narrative today. For example: Why Police stops the group X more than average?! Racism! Hate! Inequality!!! No... The answer is math. Simple as that, tested in practice, saves the money, time and lives. But today, it's a taboo.

Coca-Cola is the best refreshment! No, it's not, the solution is way too concentrated :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65540.54
ETH 2608.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65