You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The reciprocal influence between you and your genes

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Interesting, really. We usually think this is my nature, like there is no way to change our deepest part, our genes. Well, that's not true, we actually change a lot over time, even thanks to small or big events affecting our life, like being separated from a person we love (if this is true for a mouse, why shouldn't be as well for human beings?).
Sometimes you expect evolution to be something so big and far from your daily life, while it is there, right in front of you, in you.

And, last but not least, you gave me the best explanation ever for the high inefficacy of coffee on me! I have 2 copies of that bloody gene!

Thank you for sharing this, it helps a lot to understand ourselves, our nature and the possibilities of changing even our genes hidden behind every interaction with our environment.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment, I am glad you liked the topic. Since you have 2 copies of the gene I hope you don't smoke as well otherwise you may be completely "immune" to coffee ;)

Fortunately, I don't smoke ;)
On the other hand, I drink a lot of coffee everyday :P

Thank you!

cool, so if I'm in Malta I'll call you if I want a coffee ;)

Definitely <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61068.10
ETH 2655.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58