You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Men vs. women : the gender-difference myths

in #steemstem6 years ago

I'm so with you on this one @zen-art. There is so much conditioning. A couple of decades ago a daft pop-science book entitled "Why men don't listen and women can't read maps". I've enjoyed reading maps since I was a child, and I used to navigate for my parents when we were on holiday. So maybe it's not really surprising that I regularly organise walks for Meetup groups. Most people don't actually believe that women can't read maps, but there are maybe one or two who still take this kind of stuff seriously and try and challenge me about my map-reading. Thankfully it is very rare.
When I did my Mountain Leader course recently there were about six women in our group who were all excellent navigators (we were taking it in turns to do navigation exercises). I'm booked on a winter mountain navigation course in a few weeks, which will be taught by a woman.
It's sad that some women – including my sister, who is a Professor of psychiatry – have come to believe that they simply can't read maps. They've built up a mental block about it.

Sort:  

I am happy to hear that you are good with maps too. I was in the scouts for a long time and we really have excellent scout programs in my country. One of the things we had to learn was maps and not just regular map reading but the mathematical one or the military one if you will, with azimuths. To this day, if you give me a ruler, a compass, and a protractor and I will calculate miracles :D I never got lost in my life, not ever. :)

Azimuths! Now that is impressive :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58521.00
ETH 2488.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39