You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Connections Between Deep Sleep And Cognition : A Wake-up Call

in #steemstem6 years ago

Fantastic, brilliant post. I am fascinated by sleep, and at the age of almost 56, I generally sleep like a baby most nights. I think this could be due to several factors - mainly because I do loads of exercise, simply because I'm obsessive about hillwalking and climbing; secondly because I rarely eat anything with added sugar - I find that if I eat a sugary treat in the evening when I'm very tired, it gives me a "quick fix energy boost", making me alert again, which makes me wonder how much impact a sugary diet has on sleep quality; and thirdly because since I was made redundant from a very stressful job several years ago, I mainly work my own hours and I'm much more relaxed than I used to be, despite not having a steady income :)
Certainly my quality of sleep is massively better now than when I was an anxious, insomniac teenager - so I wonder how much the general population deterioration of sleep quality with age might be due to outside factors such as diet, exercise and anxiety.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55