You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GMO food isn't going to make your food allergies worse, but could make them better.

in #steemstem6 years ago

Interesting information – thanks for making it digestible (no pun intended) for non-experts in this field. I do have strong reservations against GMOs, mainly because I believe they have been used by certain multinationals to make their products resistant to the use of very strong pesticides, and ultimately for profit and control. I have other concerns about, for example, using GMOs to eliminate certain biological aspects of species that may appear harmful in one respect, but that may also serve a valuable purpose in nature that has not been considered or understood.
But having said that, I don't personally see any connection between GMOs and food allergies.
My personal belief, based on what I've read and experienced, is that food allergies and intolerances are more likely to be triggered by overuse of certain antibiotics. And of course there are probably other reasons too. Funnily enough I discussed this very point yesterday in comments on a post by @sultnpapper.

Sort:  

Hey @natubat
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

I have written an article before on that -> https://steemit.com/steemstem/@alexdory/glyphosate-or-monsanto-s-roundup-a-scientific-and-unbiased-point-of-view

The conclusion is that GMO's are not worse than any other products and the pesticides for GMO's are not worse than any other pesticides. If you have the means (availability and cost), go for BIO/Green products. If not, the GMO's will probably not harm you more than non GMO's sprayed with traditional pesticides :)
And the big companies are the usual living-at-the-edge-of-legality companies that you can find in any industry. Nothing special about that. Apart from using their incredible wealth to lobby here and there, it seems that they actually left the market to do the choosing. The clients actually choose them and I would probably use them too. For the record I would like to start my owm BIO/Green farm in about 10 years after I get tired of programming :D

The rest is a lot of pseudoscience, conspirationism and fake news that is not seen in any of the studies I have found.

Cheers!

Thanks for your comment. But saying

The rest is a lot of pseudoscience, conspirationism and fake news that is not seen in any of the studies I have found.

doesn't seem very unbiased to me.
I will read your article later though - I'm rushing out for the day.

After you will read, you will understand better.
What I am saying is that, in the media, most of the bad claims associated with GMO's are not backed by studies, while all the studies I have read show no evidence of those claims.
You can't have two realities so you must decide if you believe the media or the studies :D

By all means, don't take my word for it, this is what I like about science!

I've read your article now, and it is really excellent - very well researched and, as you say, unbiased. You probably won't be surprised when I say that I still hold the practices of Monsanto/Syngenta in very low regard.
One thing that particularly disturbs me about GMOs is that they can be invasive - once the genie is out of the bottle, it's difficult to put it back in. I'm happy for others to enjoy GMO food while I eat my organic food, but in some cases, cross-contamination is very difficult to prevent and detect.
However I live in Scotland, so if I buy local food there is not much chance of it being GMO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43