You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Misunderstood Body Functions

in #steemstem7 years ago

I was doing so well right until the end.....my dumb question of the day is....what fills the gap when the adult teeth drop and push the baby teeth out, and if the adult teeth are there already, what's the point in baby teeth ?
Thank you :-)

Sort:  

Hi nathen, I'll answer your question as best I can. But I'm no dentist :p...

So what fills the gap is bone, the teeth in the bone would usually be surrounded with cartilage and soft tissue and this would ossify.

As for why we have two set of teeth. It's quite common in nature for teeth to grow in sets, with one set pushing out the next in a continuous cycle. I guess for some reason humans only get that cycle once, and have to make do with our adults teeth for our whole lifes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60315.45
ETH 2606.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53