You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are there Antimatter Regions inside our Hubble Bubble? (Particle Physics Series – Episode 4D)

in #steemstem6 years ago

Hi @jaineel. You are confused... means I didn't do a good job :-(!

Let me try again :-)

I do not have a rubber band with me. I'll make a diagram for you instead :

Imagine a rubber band with 3 points, A, B and C. Points are distant from each other by 1 meter. So AB = 1m and AC = 2m. Now pull the rubber band to extend it to twice its size (The red arrow represents the pulling force). Suppose it took you 1 second to do so.

The distances are now AB = 2m and AC = 4m.

rubber band.jpg

Speed is distance covered over time. Relative to A, B covered 1 m in 1 second, so its speed is 1 m/s. Still relative to A, C covered 2 meters so its speed is 2m/s.

This is because each meter of a length has increased by an extra meter every second. So if you extend a dimension of space (here the rubberband), the speed of recession of any point of that space relative to a reference will be proportional to the distance from that reference point.

In cosmology, this is referred to as Hubble’s law.

Hope it clarifies!

Sort:  

This makes sense @murphy

I had the same issue comprehending with a rubber band but this has clarified me.

This is a great post. The simplicity of explanation amazes me.

Whether they exist or not, matter-antimatter explosions are not what I would however want to witness. :)

I'm following you now and I hope you also follow back. :D

Whether they exist or not, matter-antimatter explosions are not what I would however want to witness. :)

Me neither, check around the section of that post for some amusing calculations about that: https://steemit.com/steemstem/@muphy/matter-and-antimatter-such-an-explosive-couple-particle-physics-series-episode-4b

I'm following you now and I hope you also follow back.

I checked your profile, nice scientific articles you wrote. that made me follow you, but please do not request follow backs in comment (this strategy is really for losers: rise up man!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85