You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trehalose, a common food additive, may have fueled worldwide Clostridium difficile outbreaks

Given that trehalose is a product formed by brewing yeast, especially as a response to cold shock, it makes me wonder how drinking beer might set off C. diff that might be lingering in the gut. I sure hope that the trehalose from the yeast in my witbier doesn't give me the poops!

As related note, I am doing a metabolic engineering project on brewing yeasts, and genes implicated in trehalose accumulation are some of the targets to short-circuit glycolysis/ethanol metabolism. Hopefully that doesn't result in any proliferation of pathogenic shit critters come consumption!

Sort:  

Now I have to worry when I'm drinking beer? Well hopefully the alcohol kills any C. diff before it has a chance to grow.

Awesome that you work with brewing yeast. Good luck building a better beer.

C. diff can live in alcoholic beverages and be a contaminant in beer production (I mean, you'd hope not), but I was more thinking about the effects of C. diff already in the gut feeding on the trehalose that the brewing yeast is carrying with it. Hopefully not!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34