SteemSTEM's New Name Shortlist. Vote Now!

in #steemstem4 years ago (edited)

Before I go take out the trash in this Barren, Disease-ridden land (earth), I'd like to get a final push of help for our NEW NAME.

image.png
Credit: @glass.wolf

A genuinely surprising treasure trove of names came to me from all of you, and a lot of them lead me to check for availability, pricing, etc. There were a lot of roadblocks in this regard. However, the ideas themselves gave me ideas for new directions too.

Perhaps there were too many suggestions, as I found my head whirring with possibilities...

Well. With that in mind, and considering various availabilities of such names and initial approval rating of a handful of folk, I've got here a small list of potential names.

I'd like people, if you haven't all abandoned Steem just yet, to have a vote on the following names.

Some of them we CANNOT use in their exact form, so please take that into account when choosing. For example, if BBC.com is super popular, obviously I'm going to have to use something else like... BeeBeeSea.com (creative, I know).

The final decision ultimately comes down to... Actually I don't even know. but probably not you, anyway. So, I won't keep you waiting, please choose from the following names.

I will drop comments for each name, and y'all are welcome to do a little upvote to show which one you like. (Downvotes also count as votes, if you feel like counter-acting the rewards or whatever).

The Shortlist

  • Stem-Trail
  • StemDrive
  • StemZone
  • Stem-Sight
  • Cognition
  • System (sySTEM)
  • Systemic (sySTEMic)
  • COTAS (culture of thought & science)
  • StemSocial
  • BoatyMcBoatFace
  • Ned


Of course, feel free to add replies to the comments for further suggestions!
And as the best community out there:

Thanks for your time!

Sort:  

STEM-TRAIL

Sounds cool to me

I like this one. Whoever thought it must be a genious.

STEM SOCIAL

Stemsocial.co.uk currently exists, FYI

Maybe use a dash? 🤔 I vote for this as well.

COTAS

Cuando escribo sobre el tema de Energía y sus transformaciones trato de analizar un rango del espectro electromagnético donde ocurren fenómenos importantes, así cuando trato de compartir los sucesos astronómicos que causan impacto y curiosidad por nuevos conocimientos en el mundo científico. Mi voto es por STEM ZONE porque la relaciono con un RANGO o ZONA donde las personas amantes de la Ciencia, Tecnología, Ingeniería y Matemáticas (como el logotipo de la comunidad STEM) nos sentiríamos identificados y seguros de estar compartiendo un conjunto de conocimientos afines que pueden aportar al desarrollo de una sociedad justa, equilibrada y libre.

When I write about Energy and its transformations I try to analyze a range of the electromagnetic spectrum where important phenomena occur, so when I try to share the astronomical events that cause impact and curiosity for new knowledge in the scientific world. My vote is for STEM ZONE because I relate it to a RANGE or ZONE where people who love Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (like the STEM community logo) would feel identified and confident to be sharing a set of related knowledge that can contribute to the development of a fair, balanced and free society.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

No, no, no... I have some other interesting/funny options in mind:

EpiSTEMic
brainSTEM
STEMmers
STEMson

And why not: STEMming? We are kind of stemming from Steem actually. STEMmed looks good.
😃

(By the way, I only just noticed, this also happens to sound a lot like SteemSTEM, but clearer)

I vote COTAS but a little change to full name. Instead of Culture, I suggest Community. COTAS - Community Of Thoughts And Science

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97