You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Even is Evolution by Natural Selection, Anyway? A Beginner's Guide

in #steemstem6 years ago

"evolutionists believe all life descended from rocks". Or that the piltdown man hoax proves all of evolutionary science is a hoax (or hackel's embyro illustrations, though his inferences about ontogeny recapitulating phylogeny were essentially correct), or that human footprints have been found inside fossilized dinosaur footprints, or that if evolution were true, the monkeys at the zoo would be turning into humans before our eyes.

Jeeze. I don't recall hearing such babble at school, but living in England, you basically get an education choice of 'Church of England' schools, or Catholic schools. Daily sessions of song and prayer whether you liked it or not, so I can certainly see the value in these posts from this particular background.

Good stuff

Sort:  

It's strange that such a secular country still does that, while mandatory religious education is unheard of in the US even though it's demographically and culturally much more religious.

Yep. Thankfully I do think it's just kind of a lazy attempt. Most people in England are more 'casual' christians; they might go to church during Christmas because they kinda feel they should even though it's a chore, that kinda thing. I think despite the school's ridiculous presence, England stands as one of the most secular countries on earth, taking the above into consideration.

BTW, I'd like to give a steemSTEM vote, but we like to enforce copyright protection to improve the Steem reputation. If you swap your image for something that is CC licensed/public domain, I can give a little boost =)

Done. I'll be more mindful about the copyright issue going forward as well. I badly need those votes until I can get two more people into this house, paying rent with me.

Awesome. We have quite a thriving community on discord. If you're not the social type there's also a bunch of guidelines that help maximize rewards. Having read your stuff a while now I reckon you're more than capable of being one of our better rewarded authors (unfortunately steem price at the moment means that's not something to scream about, with a ceiling of like, $30 compared to $120+ before... sigh)

Link to the discord channel? Google isn't much help.

Woops, that should have been obvious lol sorry https://discord.gg/KrWykYs

Cool, I have joined. Now what? What do I do here? I don't see you on there.

Cuz I was sleepin'. The useful links page may help you understand what we're about and what we reward, but otherwise you can just come and chat or get help on info or whatever. There's a lot more to it (mentors, engagement officers, subcommunities, merch shop etc) but I doubt you'd have a need for those

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49