You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Is Math So Hard To Learn?

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

@lemouth I completely agree. Growing up, I've always found learning science and math to be a chore. Ironically I decided to go into engineering which relied heavily on mathematics and scientific fundamentals; quite honestly I wasn't too sure on what I was expecting! However, once my exposure to STEM fields increased I started developing a deep sense of respect for the disciplines.

It was that respect / appreciation that motivated me to want to learn more about math and science. No matter the subject matter; if there is no interest or appreciation for it, it will always be "hard" to learn. This even applies to something as simple as basket weaving (which I absolutely know nothing about). In this case, as we discussed many students lack that trait for math / science. Consequently this makes it more difficult for them to understand.

Sort:  

I 100% agree. Motivation has to be there in the first place, as both of us say it.

Many people I know are actually like you. They didn't like much science/math to start with but for some reasons, they move on with scientific studies and get a different approach, which brings them closer to a topic that they master and have fun with today :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62065.67
ETH 2429.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68