You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Stellar Neighborhood

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Hey @terrylovejoy! Just woke up! I was too busy yesterday so I took the time to read through your work today before commenting!

Thanks for the shout out by the way! Is that a rectangular conformal projection? I think it serves your blog's purpose perfectly fine. I also think you could have achieved a similar outcome by utilizing a cylindrical compromise projection! I really thought there were MANY more stars within 21 lightyears from Earth! Whoa!

I'm just too jealous you can take all those shots of stars and planets on your own! I wish I had such a telescope! Each and every time I read I feel like I have to buy a telescope like yours! It has to feel great spotting all those stars and planets in the night sky and taking a ''real time'' look. (I sure know it's not :P)

Didn't know Sirius had such a small lifespan! Makes sense considering its size! Those blogs of yours are truly inspiring.

Keep up the quality work!

Sort:  

I am not sure whether this a true conformal projection. It was computed as follows

X' = S . X
Y' = S . Y
Z' = 0

where S = R ^ 1.5, and R = sqrt ( X2 + Y2 + Z2) / sqrt (X2 + Y2)

Why power 1.5, well its because if I didn't stars would all appeared clustered around the periphery of the projection. This way the density of stars is preserved across the projection.

I see! Thanks for the detailed info! So you basically created your own projection. I really love this software you're using!

Yeh you can do virtually anything with the built-in Python scripting engine. I used Blender Python to read in the X,Y,Z coords from a file and did the above transformation.

Where did you get the X,Y,Z coords? Observations through some sort of software or available values somewhere on the net?

Actually, I took the list of X,Y,Z from my first reference. But I could have calculated them using Right Ascension, Declination and Distance from one the available catalogs which can be downloaded in column delimited formatted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70