You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TOXIGENICITY OF SNAKE VENOM: dangers of ligating (tying) site of snake bite

in #steemstem6 years ago

A great research work. I hate and feared snake so much. I remember an instance when my dad was bitten by a snake some ten years ago. It was late in the night so he didn't know what bite him but from the sound made by the escaping snake on dead leaves he suspected that it was a snake. He came home and drank some quantity of kerosene and went to bed till the next morning when he was able to get a medical attention. I don't know how medically proven it is but do you if kerosene do help in calming the effect of snake poison?

Sort:  

What the heck! I've never heard this before! I think drinking kerosene is very harmful to our health!
But well, whatever must've happened that day!

@nevies ...You are right

Wao...thats really interesting to hear.
I can't really say for sure whether the kerosene he drank save him or not, from the research I made, some snakes can be venomous or nonvenomous, probably the one that but him might be the nonvenomous one.
Kerosene is a hydrocarbon and it's a toxic petroleum distillate.
I have currently made a research about it and there is no conclusive evidence about kerosene neutralising the effect of snake venom. With time If find any article about it I will definitely hook you up with it.
Thanks for stopping-by @lordjames

The kerosene didn't stop the effect but only delayed it. By the next day my dad feet had swollen up and for the next three months he couldn't wear a shoe on that foot. The locals said without the kerosene, he wouldn't have stayed till morning (about 11 hours before proper medical treatment), I don't know how true this is.

Will dig deeper into this, any findings i make I will let you know.
I love your inquisitiveness..... Thanks a lot , this gives me an opportunity to research more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46