You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Detecting black holes with telescopes and gravitational waves

in #steemstem6 years ago

Terrific article ! I am passionate about this subject as I did a master in astrophysics along with my engineering diploma. There was even information I didn't know about : who was that physician called Mitchell in the 18th century ? Same era as Newton, yet I never heard of him, especially the fact he was the first to think about the possibility of black holes to exist. Anyway, I will keep on following your contributions, the STEM seems very interesting ! I made an interesting work on string theory, and its possibilities in order to unify relativity and quantum mechanics, things like that, during my high school years that I will be eager to present here ! Just have to translate it correctly from French to English though.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment!

Mitchell did a lot of things, not only in physics. The Wikipedia page gives a summary of his accomplishments.

I would be glad to read your string theory articles. Note that you can post them both in French (the #francostem guys will be more than happy about that) and in English, and don't forget to add the #steemstem tag to facilite the finding of your post (see here for more information).

ok I will do this rapidly ! Thanks

"one of the most unsung scientists of all time" ; so that's why I never heard about him I guess; he did very little to promote himself, but that still doesn't mean he was not efficient and intelligent ; he did predict a whole lot of things, and even conceived some way to measure the mass of the Earth. Respect to him. I agree promotion is not everything. Pity now we live in a world full of that. The link even says he was by far the most talented and original scientist of his time. Guess with that he didn't care about losing time in promotion like Newton did for example.

Promotion, or actually communication in general, is very important today. I believe it is crucial that scientists discuss with the general audience about what they are doing and why they are doing it. After all, the general audience is the one paying for research ;)

that's true but at the time, Michell actually preferred to focus on his work ; promotion still doesn't have to take like 60% of the task ; you have to stay reasonable and know what's more important, personally, I don't care about promotion, it's all about production, then it can come as a bonus. There are also people that are just there to get other people's attention for fuck sake ; I mean more out of the scientific world ; but that's the other extreme.

Totally, this is a matter of balance :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61491.31
ETH 3387.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50