You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: INTRODUCTION TO CARTOGRAPHY - CARTESIAN COORDINATES & GRID SYSTEMS

in #steemstem6 years ago

Why just not simply using spherical coordinates? I know, this is very naive, but so simple, IMO. One distance, two angles. That's it.

For some reasons, you did not mention anything related to the use of atan. However, as far as I know, there are many ways to define angles in cartography (like longitude and co-longitude, for instance). Will this be the topic of a following post?

Sort:  

Hey @lemouth, thanks for dropping by and reading!

Why just not simply using spherical coordinates? I know, this is very naive, but so simple, IMO. One distance, two angles. That's it.

I will definitely share information regarding the Geographical Coordinates System (spherical coordinates - two angles and a geometric altitude), which is one of the two main categories of coordinate systems, in one of my future blogs as promised!

For some reasons, you did not mention anything related to the use of atan. However, as far as I know, there are many ways to define angles in cartography (like longitude and co-longitude, for instance). Will this be the topic of a following post?

Oh I did :P

I just referred to the arc tangent as "arcTAN" or "TAN^(-1)" instead, mainly due to the fact that this is how we used to call it in University, and provided a formula for the nerds. :P Wikipedia just informed me that the inverse tangent is also called atan, good to know! :)

I could definitely elaborate on the math included in one of the following posts if everyone promises they won't mute me. Kidding!

Thank you so much for the support!

i am thus looking forward for the future :p

To come back to my 'atan' comment, it was referring to the domain for the result. This gives an angle, and it is uniquely defined. However, if I am not wrong, this unique angle is not always the one that is used.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86