You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nice paper: Don’t trust the mitochondrial spare capacity!?!

in #steemstem5 years ago

Thanks for sharing this! I really enjoy reading summaries of papers out of my field (I am actually trying to do the same within my field, hoping to attract the interest of someone in the process).

When you need a lot of things to stay alive, why should this be good?

Good question. I would tend to think the opposite: the less one needs to be healthy, the better it is. No? :)

Sort:  

Hey @lemouth, this is exactly I want to transport with this post. All researchers and physicians think the more mitochondria you have the better is your health. But besides the fact, that mitochondria are producing reactive oxygen species (ROS) an elevated number is, for me, a sign of inefficiency. I will keep this issue on my priority list when I find more good paper, such as this, I will continue the argumentation.

Regards

Chapper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41