You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist - Myxomycetes (Plasmodial or Acellular "Slime Molds") And My Ongoing Moist Chamber Experiment OR How To Grow Your Own Slime Mold In A Few Easy Steps

in #steemstem7 years ago

I've yet to figure out why you don't get more views and comments on your posts. You do a fantastic job.

Get out there and network more man! You deserve more readers for work of this level of quality!

Sort:  

I appreciate your saying that! I've given it a lot of thought actually and I think the reasons are twofold:

  1. You're definitely right - I am not the best online - or irl for that matter - networker. Early on, when I was writing more sporadically or in less detail - and still learning about the whole steemit process - I spent a lot more time on various chatrooms speaking to people - but as time has passed I find it more and more difficult to engage, time wise, in chat rooms. Best case in point is the steemstem room, filled with people I like talking to, and yet still I rarely get in there. I find that my schedule often just allows me to start a conversation but rarely get in much depth as there are big gaps between my availability to log in and talk.

  2. Additionally, and maybe even more importantly, this is a super niche topic and, even if I succeed in making it accessible and visually interesting, the fact remains fungi is just not an active interest for most people, which makes it more difficult to accrue natural views. The view and comment count generally skyrocket after a post breaks $100, but even then it's usually a select few who have something say about a topic so specific.

At the end of the day though, I count my blessings every single post. In truth, no matter how high the quality is, the support these posts already receive, and some of my stories receive, given the subject matter, absolutely blows me away.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61016.36
ETH 3388.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56