You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Puffy dark matter to reconcile observations and predictions

in #steemstem5 years ago

"Puffy dark matter" ... it sounds like dark matter is a cute little adorable thing hugging all cosmological objects in its puffy hands :) Not a scary matter-monster that will eat everything and all of us if it only has a chance :D

Haha, that's how cosmology looks like in my head :D

Sort:  

As I said to @greenrun, physicists are sometimes good in finding names for new models. I am personally bad at that, but others are definitely mastering this skill. In this case, this choice indeed makes us thinking about some cute stuff, living in space (as you said). And the most funny part is when one thinks about the properties of what a puffy object should have, and that dark matter has similar properties here. In other words, the name is extremely well chosen :)

PS: dark matter and black holes are different beasts. Only black holes are hungry ;)

PS: dark matter and black holes are different beasts. Only black holes are hungry ;)

Hahaha! That metaphor is brilliant. It will definitely make me remember who eats what in the universe! Your students must be very happy with a professor like you!

For this, you may want to ask my students directly. However, the fresh ones will meet me for the first time on Monday. I will not discuss black holes but I will mention at some point Goldstone bosons (let's input another name that may sound fancy outside physics) eaten by gauge boson (here is another one :p). Physics is all about eating, as you can see :D

Hahahahaha, a lot of eating indeed :D And bosons :D Everyone is a boson out there :D These must be the cool guys :D A fresh 21st-century discovery :D (or it was just the x-boson that was discovered recently?)

Bosons are cool, but all matter is made of fermions. We actually need both :)

PS: the Higgs (not X) boson is indeed the lat one to have been discovered.

PS: the Higgs (not X) boson is indeed the lat one to have been discovered.

Hahahahaha, OMG, my x-boson must have made you laugh a lot! :D

In simplified dark matter models, the mediator connecting the dark sector to normal matter is sometimes an X boson. Therefore, I only half laughed as the X boson is sometimes a thing (but not the discovered thing) ^^

Oh, now I have something to rub my husband's nose in. He laughed so hard when I told him about me writing to you about the "x-boson" :D :D :D

Black hole is the Oliver Twist of the cosmos; it's on the lookout for gas and dust to further increase its mass :)

Except for the small ones that evaporates too fast :D

That can't be helped :)

I think all scientists hope to coin a term that is both accurate and humorous. This one nails it!

Yeah. but humour is also very subjective :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59