You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Journey through the understanding of particle physics - Three

in #steemstem6 years ago

I must appreciate your contribution. Indeed I benefited from your scientific article.
I have a contrary view which I stand to be corrected if wrong. You wrote

Through experimentation it was proven that the speed of light is actually constant irrespective of the motion of the observers. This definitely proved that the electromagnetic field does not need an underlying medium to exist.

From my knowledge in Engineering, EM waves and Transmission line, the speed of light is not constant. It varies from one medium to the other, the speed of light in a vacuum is different from the speed of light in water and is also different in glass

Sort:  

Thanks for your precision @ikchris.
You are correct that the speed of an electromagnetic wave in different mediums is not the same.
In general when we refer to the speed of light, we refer to the speed of light in a vacuum which is constant.
I believe physicists prefer to use the term "universal speed limit" c to describe this constant.

Oooo, you have cleared my understanding
Thanks
Please can I get in contact with you
My email is [email protected]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56