You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Cure for Alzheimer’s Disease? No, just a long line of late stage treatment failures…

in #steemstem7 years ago

Hey @mountainwashere, thanks for commenting!
Where did you get the 10% number from? I had always thought of Alzheimer's as by far the most common cause of dementia, and numbers I see quote it as causing between 60-80% of cases - e.g. here:

http://www.dementia.com/causes.html
http://www.alz.org/what-is-dementia.asp

No, we won't all get it, but only because we will die of something else first - that's what I mean when I wrote that 'all of us, if we live long enough, will get it'.

And of course the population is ageing year on year due to advances in other areas, which is driving up the number of people who do get it before dying of something else

Cheers

Sort:  

My numbers might be wrong- can't recall where I saw them. I'll do some doublechecking.

No drama, don't worry about it

Unfortunately even 1% is way too many...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.62
ETH 2642.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59