Tech Tip Tuesday continued from last weeksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemstem6 years ago


Image source

Hello again! Glad to have you back for my Tech Tips Tuesday segment. Just a quick recap, last week I talked about the reasons why you should clean your computer or laptop as soon as possible. Today I will be covering ways to resolve the following:

  1. You've noticed how slow your computer is.
  2. Your computer is making a funny noise and it has been a while since someone has checked it.
  3. Your computer cannot get past the blue screen.
  4. Your keyboard buttons feel so hard to press that there might be some crumbs in between.
  5. Your workstation needs some organization because you cannot see your monitor or desk area.

First of all, try your best to ask for help whenever you experience any of the following issues mentioned above. I cannot stress how many times a person has tried to fix the issue but has made it worst. Other people I have worked with were also too ashamed to ask for help, which is understandable, but it is better to leave it to the professionals. Am I right?
In the I.S. and I.T. department we work with clinicians, doctors, and medical professionals who can only check their emails and save a document on their computer. Repairing a blue screen is absolutely beyond their capabilities, which is why I came up with this post. I want to help people that have no technological background be able to find the symptoms and ask for help if they are not able to do the following.

Going back to the five issues you’ve experienced above, we will start from the top.
First, I like to tell others that if your computer, laptop or tablet starts to act slowly, it is likely filled with unwanted or forgotten files filling up needed space.

Image source

The best way to alleviate this problem is to do some type of spring cleaning and slowly get rid of files or programs you no longer use or need. My rule of thumb is if for example I haven’t used the file or program in the last 6 months then I no longer need it. The exception to that rule is files that you need such as scanned documents for your home or other personal documents that you may need later to either reference to or does not expire. Examples can be your mortgage documents, car insurance or car purchasing documents, and your will if you like to scan everything like myself. I always keep 3 backups of the same document just in case something happens. The 3 backups include keeping a hardcopy, an emailed copy, and a saved copy in a hard drive or computer.

Just to add to this example, other things that may get stuck in your computer are temporary or temp files. A temp file according to Microsoft is a file created after you have either opened up any Microsoft product, a program, or printed something. These get stored in the temp file directory which is usually hidden in between more files. This folder can be easily found in the C: drive under the Windows\Temp location.


Image source
Do not worry about this because there are actually numerous free programs that you can use to delete these files without having to worry about all the technical stuff. The programs I use include CCleaner and Cleanup. These programs work wonders and help clean your computer up to get rid of hidden temp files, it empties your recycle bin, and searches other directories that have unnecessary files.


Image source
Second, if you have a noisy computer or laptop this is the first thing you should do. Turn it off immediately. If a computer is making a funny noise, it can be from numerous causes. I would recommend calling a computer technician to take a look instead. I know how to open a computer myself so I am pretty handy but if you do not know how to do any of that, please consult a professional.


Image source

Third, the blue screen of death can mean a lot of things. I would suggest immediately taking a picture of the blue screen and asking a computer technician to take a look. Normally, there are a bunch of codes that translate what the error is for and the technician will be able to tell you what needs to be repaired.


Image source

Fourth, you have noticed how some of your keys on your keyboard do not work right or it feels hard at first touch. This probably means you have something underneath. The best solution is to either blow the debris out with a can of compressed air or you can invest on a blower that blows air at a high rate, which can blast away hidden debris in between your keys. I would recommend dusting your keyboard away from your workstation.


Image source

Lastly, you’ve noticed how you cannot see your workstation because of everything piling up. I have a coworker that cannot organize his workstation to save his life. I have to constantly help him get everything in order. Try your best to organize your desk before you leave for the day so when you come in the next day, everything is organized and ready for you. I try to clean or pick up my area about half an hour before I leave for the day so I am not stuck waiting for the time to pass. It helps me use my time wisely. Also, everyone has their own organization that fits their needs so every desk will be different and that is fine. Organize your desk comfortably to your liking so you are more productive at your job. This tip applies at home as well if you have a workstation.

Image source

Congratulations on being able to conquer your tech issues with the help of my tips. Feel free to ask me anything related to this post. If you want any tips, please feel free to give me some ideas. I will try my best to give you the best solution. Thanks for stopping by. Stay tuned for more posts about women in technology every other week, some tech tips on Tuesday, and some life hacks on Thursdays.

Check out my page for more posts:

This is an amazing support group for women:
TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63691.77
ETH 3157.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84