You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vitamin Wednesday #4 - Vitamin E [Eng/De]

in #steemstem7 years ago

I actually just found a study finding the opposite to what I was saying. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23700248

However my concern with just supplementing alpha-tocopherol has to do with decreased absorption of the other forms from out competing the receptors rather then causing depletion of the other. The study didn't study the right question. Mixed tocopherols are more similar to real food rather then just straight synthetic alpha-tocopherol that most vitamin E products are made out of.

I don't really supplement vitamin E very much in my practice but to recommend mixed tocopherols for people who want to be on vitamin E long term. Of if I find good evidence to use it in a patient with a more unique diagnosis.

Sort:  

Ok, thanks for your concern! And thank you for your honesty! I mean, I am being very general in my post. There are people who need supplements because they have problems with fat absorption (thus they cannot absorbt enough fat-soluble vitamins). But the healthy individual should be fine.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80