You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist #25 - Pycnoporus cinnabarinus - A Bright Orange/Red Mushroom With Practical/Industrial Applications

There are so many pretty polypores! I wonder what sort of poundage or tonnage is being harvested to support industrial uses of these bracket fungus! Nice to see you using your KOH. The color changes in mushrooms is so fascinating. I found some boletes yesterday that sure stain blue, so quickly. And so many Dyer's Polypores this fall, with their fast-staining brown reaction. Here's to fun with fungi! :D

Sort:  

It's a big step for me finally getting some reagents ready. Also, sneak peak, I should have another important advancement coming soon. It should be able to calibrate my microscope so that I can measure Spore size and other characteristics. For number of mushrooms specifically anything terrestrial very small and brown or white, this kind of microscopic work can be very important. I still won't be able to do the really detailed stuff at least not until I get a new microscope that's a little bit better. But this should add yet another element of detail to these posts, which I'm excited about.

That is pretty exciting! Macrocharacteristics can only get us so far, that's for sure! And then you can work on that DNA lab! DNA analysis has changed so much of what's known about fungi speciation these days! Especially with splitting up what were thought to be one species for so long. It's hard to keep up with it all. And then there's the reclassification changes, too. I'm looking forward to your microscope efforts and seeing how it changes how you are working with the various mushrooms! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97