You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The CODEINE EPIDEMIC: Can Fire be Quelled by Smoke?

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

If you've visited the North Eastern part of Nigeria, like Yobe, Borno, etc. you'd notice there are more flies there. It is mostly not as a result of dirty environment or conditions; there is just more flies in the area. Though a dirty environment encourages it. I watched the BBC documentary video on YouTube. It was sad to see the way the guys are chained up. I witnessed first hand the abuse of codeine in that part of the country. It could have something to do with the ban on alcohol usage, though not justifying it, but I think guys tend to get their "high" from other substance since alcohol is prohibited.

Sort:  

Really, thanks for the extra info. @greenrun. I knew about the infestation of houseflies in the North but I didn't know it was that terrible. And thanks for the video too. I didn't add it to the post because I feared it might be regarded as an infringement of YouTube's property. But seeing it on your comment, I think it wouldn't have been wrong all the same.

I see you might not have read the edited version of the post because of your non-inference to the Marijuana solution handed down by a certain Joe Schrank. Please if this is the case, do make out time to read the remaining parts of the post which I skipped out earlier. I would really want to know your opinion on the whole solution thing. Can this fire of opioid addiction be really put out by the smoke of Marijuana? Thanks.

About the YouTube video, I linked, I did not embed the video as it could be a sort of copyright infringement. Unless, of course, the video is a creative common video which in this case it is not. So to be on the safe side I usually link my YouTube video rather than embed it. For more on YouTube's copyright please read here.

I guess the method of gradual withdrawal from one substance by adding a less "evil" type may work. The keyword there is that it is regulated dosage. Morphine is addictive but in regulated doses can help alleviate the sufferings of someone in pain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63324.37
ETH 2452.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69