Sort:  

@gentleshaid : In computatyional biology, mathematical biology, systems biology and biophysics etc the concept of eigen values and vectors pops up multiple times. A lot of mathematical applications are possible. If we are able to make sense out of applying math in biology, that is a great thing. For example the field I am working in is called Molecular dynamics, where I try simulating proteins, which is only possible because we are applying physics which in turn uses concepts from mathematics (applied math) too. Recently we are seeing a trend in most biology labs. Biology is getting more quantitative in nature, which is a great sign.

That's an aspect I would like to explore but I'm afraid of where to start from really. I've not done much mathematics, just a little statistics. I deal mostly with ecological aspect of the environment especially as it relates to plant. In the process of getting PhD in it actually. I have a long way to come from in mathematical biology.

I understand you. The best thing which people do these days is bringing up an interdisciplinary group. Like a biology professor will have a student trained in electronics or physics who are interested in biology and a post-doc who was a string theorist in past. I am not naming people here. This is very common these days. Even In India! And there are multiple workshops which enable people from multiple backgrounds to enable them to talk to each other. This is such a workshop : https://www.icts.res.in/program/qsb2017

Thanks a bunch for this. I hope professors in my school will imbibe this idea

If you see the participants, you can see Nigerian students in this link. Do you know these colleges? https://www.icts.res.in/event/page/12388

Yea... One of the college's isn't far from my base.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71