You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist - Puntas Arenas Part 2: Cyttaria darwinii

in #steemstem6 years ago

Ask away! And thank you I appreciate your taking the time to look. Interesting I never thought to check the stipe for the spore color. When we first brought them home we thought we noticed a slight light purple tinge that was so slight it was hard to say whether we imagined it. Maybe we stared at the sun for too long haha. They've been in the fridge for two days now and I can only see dark brown and tan colored bruising. I have some bruised caps here. Also there's a pic of one with the veil they're pretty low key. We pulled out a bunch all of the same species. The gills of the younger ones were slightly lighter, closer to tan than cinnamon. They smelled very "mushroomy" and fresh haha. Just like the ones at the store. Also none of the stems were hollow.

IMG-0279.JPG
IMG-0380.jpeg
IMG-0282.JPG
Here is right after I cut it in half^^
IMG-0283.JPG
And here is about 1 hour later^^

IMG-0284.JPG
IMG-0375.JPG
The caps had a bit of a sheen to them(below) and above is the same mushroom later that night after I washed it.
IMG-0355.JPG
IMG-0220.JPG

Sort:  

The closest match I can find is the western blewit (clitocybe nuda)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59264.94
ETH 2604.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38