You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NASA | A Black Widow Pulsar Consumes its Mate

in #steemstem6 years ago

Thanks for a good read:). I have a question:

as the pulsars absorb the mass of the partner object they start pulsating and spinning even more and at some point once the spin is too high they might actually fall apart
Pulsars can fall apart? I thought their gravity would always be strong enough to keep them together.
Sort:  

Hi @flyyingkiwi!

Thanks for the appreciation, I am glad you liked it.

Coming back to your question :

Here the scenario is different, this pulsar actually has a type now and these types of binaries are now always called Black Widows because they're basically eating up their companion object and they're destroying its mass that's essentially absorbed by the pulsar and as you probably know or read from other sources in the references provided below that as the pulsars absorb the mass of the partner object they start pulsating and spinning even more and at some point once the the spin is too high they might actually fall apart!

Hence, this is the complete story which I already mentioned above in the article. I am glad you taken out time to clear out your doubts! For more basic details about the pulsar you may visit my earlier articles for more basic understanding and you can also go through the reference no. 7 in this article it will redirect you to NASA's website. There also it explained more elaborately about this Black Widow Pulsar! 😇

I hope, I was able to clear your doubts! Thanks for taking out your time and commenting. I am glad having a discussion with you about it! 😉

Thanks for the answer. I will check out the links you recommended, I think neutron stars are amazing. Hope you do some more posts on them

Sure, if time permits I will try to bring some more posts on it! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66