You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The False Vacuum - One Of The Scariest Concepts In Physics

in #steemstem6 years ago

Well that's one more force in the universe that would extinguish us in an instant if we ever got too close. One thing I don't understand though, if an area in the universe ever did reach that lowest energy state, why would it inevitably spread out at the speed of light?

Sort:  

Personally I don't have any explanation why the ultimate speed of a true vacuum wavefront would be the speed of light. The best I can do is cite these references (they seem to think so):

https://nerdist.com/vacuum-decay-is-a-very-real-way-all-life-in-the-universe-might-be-destroyed/

https://astronomy.stackexchange.com/questions/8667/the-destruction-of-the-universe-by-a-bubble

I think in science sometimes to answer a question you would need to give an answer the length of one of the chapters from Stephen Hawking's book. I will have a read of those links when I have time, the titles look really interesting for someone who is interested in the destruction of the universe such as myself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50