Science needs to be fun!

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

high.GIF

Do you care about neck, knees and back posture? Probably not....

Do you care about squatting and the many benefits? I doubt many do.

How about studying the life of the Hadza, one of the last hunter-gatherer tribes? Mmmm...Perhaps intriguing to a few.
I don’t blame you, even if I have written on the above mentioned, over the past weeks. --->

The truth is that these topics are $hit interesting and everyone should agree.

The real problem is in my writing about these subjects.

Let me explain:

Science is fantastic, especially human sciences. The downfall is the inaccessibility to the masses. Pure science (academia) has isolated itself from the general population through its difficult language. Few scientists are willing to dumb down the language so everyone understands them. Perhaps it's an ego thing...?

I fall into the same category. One of my recent posts was about knee injuries. So many people suffer from this physiological trauma, and I hoped that my writing could help some of the sufferers.

After 25+ hours of putting the 2000 word essay together, I published it.

I made cash!! Many looked at the sheer volume of text and intricate, hand-drawn images, and thought: ‘This guy deserves an upvote.’

I’m genuinely grateful for the financial support. I just felt a little empty inside though. The views and comments were way below the upvotes. I realized that people are not reading my content... They are just applauding the hard work I put into it.

Health is relevant to every one of us, as long as we are on this earth. Thus, my writing is critical to everybody. I just need to convey the information in a way that excites people.

So what I’m going to do is mesh science with some light-hearted humor, wordplay and excellent graphics. Even motion graphics!

Besides the change in style, I plan to write shorter form content, more frequently. I realize that you don’t have all day to read my essays.

Important note: In no way am I willing to give up the validity and reliability of my writing. All the content is still backed by research and will continue that way.

So, my last two posts were an experiment of this new strategy. So far the feedback has been awesome. People are excited. Here are some of the kind comments.

I’m not here to blow my own horn though. I just want to stay transparent with my followers. I also urge everyone to look at my previous work and give me feedback in the comments below. What type of content do you guys want to see from me? Do you think my new ideas are good? What do you want me to contribute to the community, especially @steemstem, the group I am grateful for being apart of.

I have also thought about video content. Dtube is working better now, and I have some experience with video production. A motion picture is a great way to convey my ideas in the world of Sport and exercise science. Check this video I did, to get an idea....

Let's start a conversation, guys!

I'm Looking forward to hearing all your feedback!

@exercisinghealth

Sort:  

I totally agree that long contents filled with scientific mumbo jumbos are a bit exhausting, even for fellow scientists in different field. A shorter, concise and linguistically explicit contents are exciting to read. Although I cannot say much about the rewards because it seems the normal trend is the more voluminous the contents, the more the rewards. I might be wrong though.

Thank you so much for your time to comment.
This is my worry. I will definitely try and break up my content into digestible pieces with a more 'fun' light-hearted approach. I'm glad you agree. The rewards are obviously awesome, but I'm more focused on getting a following. Once people avidly read my stuff, I'm​ sure they will see the value in the writing and reward me for it anyways.

Yes.... I agree so. That is what I try to do mostly

I’m genuinely grateful for the financial support. I just felt a little empty inside though. The views and comments were way below the upvotes. I realized that people are not reading my content... They are just applauding the hard work I put into it.

You are expecting too much far far too fast. I say this time and time again. Developing an audience takes time. A LONG time! Bloggers elsewhere pour their hearts and countless hours into their work for only a couple views, and they do this for YEARS. The fact that you are upset over a lack of views and good comments on here is a bit ... Distressing. You aren't considering the larger picture and I need you to.

We are all here on steemit very very early. Those here now who develop even a small following could become huge names when the site explodes and the masses arrive. THAT is what you should be preparing for. In the interim, you should be going out and giving real comments to others work, legit comments like I am doing here. It's networking that helps build your brand, and gives people another view of who you are and why they want to follow you.

Views and comments will come, spend the next year focusing on networking, and taking the money when it comes. Get yourself ready for the masses, because as you and your content develop, when more users arrive, you could become a very big name in health blogging.

P.S. I have been at this for over a year and look at the sorts of comments I get on my own posts. It's taken me a while but I am finally getting some legitimate insight. However I went through your position, I didn't have many real extensive comments for a long time. As for my comments, I rarely have the time to write ones like I am doing here, but I do try to say something encouraging from time to time. I am reading posts (necessary for curating), but I'm just not always engaging with the authors. Hopefully what we try to do with steemSTEM will put slowly more eyes on your work and help you develop your brand.

Thank you so much for your time. I know how busy you are with the SteemSTEM team and life in general, so it means a lot.

What you are saying makes total sense. I guess the desire for instant gratification is unhealthy.... The perseverance and patience will make everything that much sweeter in the end also.

I needed someone of your influence to give me the little kick up the ass to carry on going. I must continue to keep the big picture in mind.

In terms of my writing style, did you like my last two posts over the loooong, 'boring' ones before? Or should I vary them up, depending on the topic? The workload of the long form content also makes me disappear from the platform for 8-12 days at a time. I'm not sure if that hurts my visibility?

Finally, with regards to networking, I would be willing to curate 'health science' Posts for SteemSTEM if you guys ever need the help. It's an excellent way to give more to the community too.

Thanks again, really appreciate it.

To be honest I have thought that many of your posts have been pretty good. Length isn't really something I factor that much into my assessment. I look more at information, language clarity and ease of accessibility of cited material. So with regards to most of those you do a good job.

At this stage in the game you would be better suited to shorter posts like the most recent set as long as you keep your informational quality high (like you have). As I tried to stress your focus should be on making your self known right now. I think shorter posts achieve that a bit better then longer ones, despite my own personal preference for information dense lengthy posts.

Perhaps the best course of action is to do a mix of both with a focus more heavily on shorter posts now as you develop and gain a following.

Thank you for your invaluable words of encouragement and expertise. I have taken everything you said to heart.

In the beginning of my journey, you commented on a post and requested that I add pictures to my work. Since then, I have created many illustrations and drawing to my blogs. People love them now... So thank you for that advice.

Please don't hesitate to critique and comment on future posts. Feedback is the way I can improve. ​

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @exercisinghealth to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received gratitude of 8.99 % from @appreciator thanks to: @exercisinghealth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64