You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How onions have inspired particle physicists to design their detectors

in #steemstem6 years ago

Hello @lemouth

...Like onions , they are organized into layers, and each layer has a different role...

It is surprising to know that the structure of onion old motivate construction of something as complex as detectors. This is quite a huge feat.

I am not quite knowledgeable on the workings of a typical detector, hence this is an eye opener for me. Maybe be further research maybe necessary for me to come to terms with the whole concept. However, I appreciate this.

@eurogee, the founder of @euronation community & The Host, Show Us Your Witnesses Weekly Contest

Sort:  

Thanks for passing by!

I am not really sure the onion was the initial motivation. I guess the comparison appears afterwards. However, I have no information with this respect, unfortunately. Thus dates from before my time :)

Alright. The pleasure is mine✌️

The CMS experiment's blog is called the Cylindrical Onion so we've definitely embraced it, though :)

I didn't know that this was existing. That is a great choice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75